NEBP Speaker Series Poster

The Speaker Series is a set of student-centered virtual sessions to engage with subject matter experts, STEM educators, and NASA professionals. Hear about diverse career paths, leadership experiences, and ballooning-related technical skillsets in the workforce.

We will have about one speaker per week from January 15, 2024 through March 2024. Sessions are one hour with time for discussion and questions, and speakers are encouraged to share information about their career pathways and interests outside of work.

All sessions will be recorded. Recordings will be posted below. 

Would you like to be a speaker in the NEBP Speaker Series? 
Would you like to recommend a speaker for the series? Please email Julia Wente

Upcoming Presentations

Chris PackhamFriday, March 1, 1:00-2:00pm CST (11:00 PST, 12:00 MST, 2:00 EST) "NEBP and My Astronomical Story" by Dr. Chris Packham, University of Texas San Antonio

Dr. Packham is a professor of astrophysics at the University of Texas at San Antonio and holds a visiting professorship at the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan. 

 

Jennifer FowlerWednesday, March 6, 1:00-2:00pm EST (10:00 PST, 11:00 MST, 12:00 CST) with Dr. Jennifer Fowler, NASA Langley Research Center

 

 

 

Friday, March 15, 4:00-5:00pm CST (2:00 PST, 3:00 MST, 5:00 EST) with Dr. Jamey Jacob, Oklahoma State University

Thursday, March 21, 7:00-8:00pm EST (4:00 PST, 5:00 MST, 6:00 CST) with Lacey Young, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Tuesday, March 26, 10:00-11:00am PST (11:00 MST, 12:00, CST, 1:00 EST) with Drs. Jacob Izraelevitz and Siddarth Krishnamoorthy, NASA JPL

Feedback please!

If you attended (or after you watch) any of our sessions, we would appreciate your feedback via this short form. This also gives you the opportunity to suggest future speakers for our series.

Past presentations

Feb. 21, 2024: Geoff Bland, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

man holding a kiteThank you to Geoff Bland for presenting "NASA's Earth Observations from the Third Dimension (Up)." Watch the recording here

Bland is a research engineer for NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center - Wallops Flight Facility. He has a long history of developingsmall unmanned aircraft and instrument systems for Earth science research, including alternative platforms and associated instrumentation such as tethered blimps and kites. Bland is co-I of the AEROKATS and ROVER Education Network (NASA AREN).

You can view the slides from Geoff's talk here (NEBP Education Google Drive)

February 14, 2024: Dr. Araceli Martinez Ortiz, University of Texas at San Antonio

Thank you to Dr. Araceli Martinez Ortiz, professor of Engineering Education in the Department of Biomedical Engineering & Chemical Engineering/Interdisciplinary Learning & Teaching at UT-SA. She holds the Microsoft President’s Endowed Professorship and is a NASA MSI Faculty Fellow IPA.

Dr. Ortiz developed the NASA Future Aerospace Engineers and Mathematicians Academy (FAMA), a mathematics-based engineering design program for teachers and students. She also received a competitive faculty fellowship with NASA’s Office of STEM Engagement this year, where she advises on education program design and research elements with NASA headquarters’ teams. You can view the recording here: NEBP Speaker Series: Dr. Araceli Martinez Ortiz.

February 9, 2024: Dr. Michael Kirk, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Thank you to Dr. Michael Kirk for sharing his insight into the 2024 solar eclipse and how it serves as natural laboratory that allows for an enhanced understanding of the complex relationship between the Sun and Earth. If you missed the talk, you can watch the recording:NEBP Speaker Series: Dr. Michael Kirk

February 1, 2024: Dr. Sarah Roth, Chief Technologist, NASA Balloon Program Office

Thank you to Dr. Sarah Roth for sharing an overview of the NASA Balloon Program, including launch locations, standard systems, and development efforts, as well as her STEAM background! If you missed the talk, you can watch the recording: NEBP Speaker Series: Dr. Sarah Roth

January 25, 2024: Dr. Diana Doan-Crider, Animo Partnership in Natural Resources, LLC

Thank you to Dr. Doan-Crider for sharing her expertise and valuable insight into how we can use Indigenous Knowledge in addressing black bear conservation strategies! If you missed the talk, you can watch the recording: NEBP Speaker Series: Dr. Diana Doan-Crider - The Power of an Acorn

January 16, 2024: Dr. Jie Gong, Goddard Space Flight Center

Thank you to Dr. Gong for sharing the NASA mission process and her professional journey. If you missed the talk, you can watch the recording: NEBP Speaker Series: Dr. Jie Gong, atmospheric scientist at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center and NEBP Subject Matter Expert.

Woman with black hair looks up; surrounded by orange artistic circles

September 26, 2023: Eclipse Soundscapes and GLOBE Eclipse

Thank you to Trae Winter and Kristen Weaver for joining us to share their eclipse-related participatory science projects and their own personal STEM stories.

If you missed the presentation, you can watch the recording here: NEBP Speaker Series: Eclipse Soundscapes and GLOBE Eclipse (Sept. 26, 2023)

Thumbnail of video

Sept. 26 Links

NASA internships programs

Eclipse Soundscapes
GLOBE Eclipse